K1Risk Training courses

OUR TRAINING Courses

Learn in Class or Online

Public Safety Training

Oregon/Utah/Arizona CHL (coed) $70 

Oregon/Utah/Arizona CHL (Ladies only) $60 

Basic Handgun Training $110

Intermediate Handgun Training $120

Advance Handgun Training $150

Handgun cleaning class $25

Rifle and Pistol Transitioning $160

Beginner Shotgun $110

Intermediate Shotgun $120

Advance Shotgun $125

Active shooter training (Group) $175

Defense Tactics training $175

Self Defense training $80

Self Defense (Ladies only) $60

 
Private Security/Law Enforcement
Training

Basic Handgun Training $110

Intermediate Handgun $130

Advance Handgun $150

AR 15 and Pistol Transitioning $160                

Defense Tactics training $175

Defense Shotgun $160

Handcuffing $60

Arm/Wrist locks $60

Tactical Medical $70

Medical Training courses

AHA First aid/CPR training $75

BLS for Healthcare Providers $75

First Responder training $60

Blood borne Pathogen $60

 

Concealed Handgun License frequently asked questions

WHAT IS MULTI-STATE CONCEALED CARRY?

A multi-state concealed carry permit allows you to carry in the majority of the United States. The Utah and Arizona concealed firearms permits are two of the most valuable permit types that make multi-state CCW possible.

Although having a multi-state permit can be extremely beneficial if you plan to travel within the United States with your firearm, it is the responsibility of all concealed firearm permit holders to know and understand the applicable firearm laws of the states within which they plan to visit or venture. For information regarding firearm laws of other states, please contact the respective authority within that state.

Is it illegal in Oregon to wear a face mask and conceal carryOregon Law DOES NOT prohibit someone from wearing a mask while lawfully carrying a concealed weapon.


Do all Oregon Sheriffs accept this course/certificate?Yes, this course was created by the 36 county sheriffs in Oregon and is accepted as a form of safety handgun training that is needed to apply for a CHL.


Am I guaranteed to be issued a CHL upon completion of this course?A certificate obtained by completing this course does not guarantee you an Oregon CHL. See “What are the requirements for obtaining a concealed handgun license in the State of Oregon” below.  If you feel that you may not qualify for a CHL, please contact a county sheriff’s office to ensure they will accept your application BEFORE spending money on this, or any other, CHL course.


What does concealed meanWhen any portion of the firearm is not in plain view of an officer without search. Firearms carried openly in belt holsters are not concealed.


I don’t have an Oregon concealed handgun license. How do I transport a handgun in a vehicle?Oregon law pertaining to transporting a handgun in a vehicle can be found online at https://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/166.250.


I live outside of Oregon but travel there frequently, can I get an Oregon Concealed Handgun License?To obtain an Oregon Concealed Handgun License you must be a resident of Oregon or reside in a bordering state (Washington, Idaho, Nevada or California).


Do private property owners and business owners have the right to prohibit all firearms from their property?Yes, including concealed handgun license holders. It is recommended that the property owner clearly indicate the prohibition with signage.


I am a business owner and would like to carry a concealed handgun within my business. Do I need a CHL

No, but carrying concealed only applies to the owner. It does not apply to managers or other employees. They would need a CHL to carry concealed within the business. The business owner’s weapon may not be accessible to any other person in the business.


Do I have to tell the police I am carrying a concealed weapon?No, but it is recommended that if you are stopped by the police that you keep your hands where they can see them, indicate that you are carrying concealed and tell them you have your CHL. Then follow the directions of the police.


I am a veteran with a DD214; does that satisfy the competency requirement for my application?Maybe. If your DD214 specifically states the words pistolsidearm or handgun training, it would satisfy the requirement. Words such as “small arms” or “marksmanship” alone will not fulfill the statutory requirement.


Are there places I can’t carry my handgun concealed?

Yes. There are several locations in which you cannot carry a firearm, even with a concealed handgun license, including:

  • Any federal facility — federal courthouses, social security offices, secured areas of airports, airplanes.
  • Posted private property where the owner prohibits firearms possession, and others.
  • Many private businesses have conditions regarding the possession of firearms on their premises. If you violate these conditions you could, under certain circumstances, be subject to arrest under Oregon trespass laws, in which case, if convicted, your concealed handgun license would be seized and/or revoked.
  • National parks in areas that are marked/posted with signs prohibiting all firearms. This will no be all national parks, but some have specific rules for visitors to abide by. In those areas (whether buildings or outdoors), it will be prohibited since it is marked accordingly. For example, this might be on a bus, shuttle, boat, or ferry. Again, this will be dependent upon the specific park. Due to confusion on this topic, please refer to NPS.gov for more information.
  • Indian reservations or property — you may not carry a firearm concealed without the written permission of the tribal judge; this may also apply to certain casinos on tribal lands.
  • Courts — in a courtroom, jury room, judge’s chambers, or adjacent areas that the presiding judge determines should be free of firearms to ensure the safety of litigants, court personnel, witnesses, and others.

PLEASE NOTE: If you plan to carry your handgun, it is important to research the requirements at these locations before you go. Please see the Oregon Revised Statutes for any updated State of Oregon restrictions. If in doubt, contact the facility you plan to visit directly to obtain their policy.

How long is my Concealed Handgun License Valid?Oregon concealed handgun licenses are valid for four years unless otherwise revoked or denied. If you are transferring your permit from another county the expiration date will remain the same as your current permit.  Utah and Arizona permits are valid for 5 years.


Does my concealed handgun license work outside the state of Oregon?It depends where you are traveling. It is your responsibility to contact and verify any other jurisdiction’s recognition of an Oregon concealed handgun license.


What are the requirements for obtaining a concealed handgun license in the State of Oregon?

You must apply for a concealed handgun license in the county in which you reside.

Be a U.S. citizen or a legal alien who can document continuous residency in the United States for at least six months and who has declared, in writing, to the INS the intent to acquire citizenship (Form N300).
Be at least 21 years of age.
Have no legal condition that would prohibit you from possessing a firearm under either Oregon or Federal law.

  1. Have no outstanding warrants for your arrest.
  2. Not have been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Services.
  3. Not be an unlawful user of, or addicted to, a controlled substance.
  4. Not be on any form of pre-trial release.
  5. Not be required to register as a sex offender in any state.
  6. Not have been convicted of a misdemeanor, or found guilty of a misdemeanor within four years prior to application, except under ORS 151.295.
  7. Not be subject to a citation issued under ORS 163.735 or an order issued under ORS 30.866, 107.700 to 107.723 or 163.738 (e.g. Stalking or Restraining Orders).
  8. Demonstrate competence with a handgun by any one of the following means:
    1. Completion of any hunter education or hunter safety course approved by the State Department of Fish and Wildlife or a similar agency of another state if handgun safety was a component of the course;
    2. Completion of any National Rifle Association firearms safety or training course if handgun safety was a component of the course;
    3. Completion of any firearms safety or training course or class available to the general public offered by law enforcement, community college, or private or public institution or organization or firearms training school utilizing instructors certified by the National Rifle Association or a law enforcement agency if handgun safety was a component of the course;
    4. Completion of any law enforcement firearms safety or training course or class offered for security guards, investigators, reserve law enforcement officers or any other law enforcement officers if handgun safety was a component of the course;
    5. Present evidence of equivalent experience with a handgun through participation in an organized shooting competition or military service;
    6. Is licensed or has been licensed to carry a firearm in this state, unless the license has been revoked; or
    7. Completion of any firearms training or safety course or class conducted by a firearms instructor certified by a law enforcement agency or the National Rifle Association if handgun safety was a component of the course.

What will the concealed handgun license allow me to do?A concealed handgun license allows you to carry a loaded or unloaded handgun concealed upon your person or concealed within your control in a car or other means of transportation.


Does a concealed handgun license allow me to carry any weapon?

No. This is a concealed handgun license only. See ORS 166.210(5) for the definition of a handgun.

Where do I find more about Oregon concealed handgun license laws?

Oregon concealed handgun laws can be found online at https://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/chapter/166.

Other references to the ORS listed on this page can be found at https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/pages/ors.aspx.


If my concealed handgun license application is denied or my concealed handgun license is revoked, can I appeal?

Yes. Oregon law provides an appeal process for denials and revocations through the filing of a petition in that jurisdiction’s Circuit Court. You have 30 days from the date you receive the revocation letter to appeal the decision. For additional information refer to ORS 166.293(5).

Does Oregon recognize any other state’s concealed handgun licenses?No.


I lost my CHL card, who do I contact?Contact the sheriff’s office that issued you the card and report it lost.


I moved and need to update my address

Contact the sheriff’s office that issued your CHL to update your address.

I moved to a different county, what do I need to do?

Contact the sheriff’s office in the county that currently reside in to transfer your CHL.